Osaka pt. 2, Delicious Dotonbori!

Our one day in Osaka took us through the history of Osaka Castle, but after that we made for Osaka’s famous foodie haven.

DSC_0178

The city gets much more colorful in Dotonbori

Dotonbori is famous for its restaurants and night life.  Full of fabulous buildings, artwork, and advertising, it’s visual bombardment.  However, it’s an exhilarating experience and the food is sublime!

Dotonbori is a neighborhood that straddles a canal through central Osaka.  The nearest subway to Dontonbori is Namba.  There are about four different subway lines with stations in Namba (which is a bit confusing at first).  Sadly, the JR Namba is the furthest from Dontonbori so it was about a 15 minute hike to Dotonbori.  Thankfully, all the subway stations are underground, air conditioned, and connected via underground mall.  So we managed to navigate the area to Dotonbori in the cool comfort of the underground.  Though we got a little mixed up when we finally surfaced, we managed to make our way to the river and from there to the canal that runs through Dotonbori!

So much for failing Orienteering merit badge in Boy Scouts!

To be fair it was thanks to my girlfriend that we found our way…

To whomever the credit is due, we managed to find our way into Dotonbori, a vibrant city street that defies all description!  Just take a look at some of the things we got to see!

Osaka is famed as Japan’s culinary capital, and believe me there is no shortage of fine food here!  Though many famous Japanese dishes can be found here, my girlfriend and I decided on the Takoyaki “fried octopus balls”

Now despite all contrary experience with octopus, Takoyaki was DELICIOUS!  Battered and fried, served up piping hot with sweet soy sauce and mayo, I was pleasantly surprised by this dish.  I confess, I had reservations about eating octopus (previous experience proved it to be quite… rubbery) but I am delighted to have tried it!  Firm outside with a creamy interior, not overwhelmingly fishy in any way!  I almost reminded me of creme puffs (only with octopus)!  Not only was it delicious, but it was quite cheap!  Eight Takoyaki were perfect to split between two people.

10494569_10152293313766365_1176041108219511883_n

My lovely companion featuring our fine fried dining experience!

The only unsettling aspect of eating Takoyaki had a little to do with the atmosphere.  I’m not sure about you, but having this centerpiece made a bit uncomfortable…

10451059_10152293317641365_4426623388488549704_n

It’s coming to GET ME!!!

For being such little things, we found Takoyaki quite filling.  I’d hoped to get Osaka’s famous Okonomiyaki (Japanese fried pancake-thing), but alas my stomach was unable to find space for it!  We wandered the streets and waterways of Dotonbori for hours looking at all the shops and restaurants packed with people.  It was awesome to be in the busy streets and see so many marvelous places and people!  I look forward to the opportunity to go back to Osaka, eat everything I haven’t tried, and see so much more!

Alas, we had bigger, more pressing, plans to see Kyoto.

 

Leave a comment